Which type of annuity plan suits me?

Annuity
Retirement planning
Insurance

Generally speaking, annuity products can be categorised as follows:

1. In terms of when the annuity income starts:

  • Immediate annuity: The annuitant will start receiving annuity income once the premium has been paid up in a lump sum.
  • Deferred annuity: The annuitant contributes and accumulates capital to build up an income stream for retirement. The insurance company invests the capital during the accumulation period and starts to pay the annuitant after a certain period of time, or at a specified age of the annuitant.

2. In terms of how long the annuity income lasts:

  • Life annuity: Lifelong annuity income. Different insurance companies may define "lifelong" differently. Certain companies define "lifelong" as paying the annuitant up to their 100th birthday. Other insurance companies may pay until the death of the annuitant.
  • Annuity certain: Refers to receiving annuity income over a specified period of time, e.g. 10 or 20 years.

For example, the public annuity scheme “HKMC Annuity Plan” spearheaded by the government, is an "immediate, life annuity" product that offers monthly guaranteed annuity income for policyholders as long as they live.

Annuity plans offered by private insurance companies, on the other hand, are mostly in the form of a "deferred annuity certain", while some insurance companies also offer life annuities. Consumers should note that the annuity income from annuities offered by private sector usually comprise of both "guaranteed" and "non-guaranteed" income. As indicated by its name, the "non-guaranteed" part is not guaranteed.

Immediate vs. deferred

An immediate annuity is usually more suitable for retirees, as they usually have accumulated a lump sum of money but have no income. They can consider using part of their savings to purchase an immediate annuity plan to start receiving a steady stream of income to help paying for their daily expenses.

A deferred annuity is more suitable for those who are still working. Most of the deferred annuity plans are regular premium payment plans, e.g. paid for 5 years, 10 years or even longer, such that the policyholder can accumulate capital by saving regularly. At the time of retirement, the accumulated capital will be converted into a steady stream of annuity income to support a person's post-retirement life. They can also receive tax deductions on deferred annuities. This is designed to encourage the public to start saving and plan for their retirement early.

 

Life vs. certain

In selecting the period of annuity income, consumers should first understand one basic concept: in theory, for the same amount of premium, the longer the income period, the smaller the amount of each payout. On the other hand, the shorter the income period, the bigger the amount of each payout.

The choice between life annuity versus annuity certain should depend on one’s personal needs and circumstances. However, as discussed in the article “Should I buy an annuity plan”, the main purpose of an annuity is to hedge against the financial risks brought about by longevity. If this is the objective, consumers should select a life annuity plan or an annuity certain plan with a long income period. Certainly, consumers can also select a plan with a suitable length of income period according to their specific needs.

 

 

21 December 2018

哪类年金适合你?

年金
准备退休计划
保险

一般而言,年金产品可作以下分类:

1. 按何时开始提取年金分类:

  • 即期年金 (Immediate annuity): 即一笔过缴付保费后,随即开始领取年金收入。
  • 延期年金 (Deferred annuity): 即在较年轻时以一笔过或分期供款方式缴付保费,而保险公司在「累积期」内不断投资,到指定年期或年龄后才开始领取年金收入。

2. 按年金入息年期分类:

  • 终身年金 (Life annuity):即终身派发的年金。不同保险公司对「终身」可能有不同的定义,有些保险公司的「终身」是指最多派发至100岁,另一些保险公司则派发至投保人(一般来说,投保人与受保人是同一人)百年归老。
  • 定期年金 (Annuity certain):即于指定年期内派发年金,例如10年或20年。

例如,由政府推动的公共年金「香港年金计划」便是「即期终身」年金,投保人可以每月领取保证年金收入,直至百年归老。而私营保险公司所提供的年金一般以「延期定期」类别为主,但亦有个别公司提供终身年金。惟投保人须注意,私营市场提供的年金产品所派发的年金收入一般分为「保证」及「非保证」两部分,而「非保证」部分的收入,顾名思义并非保证不变。

 

即期 vs. 延期

即期年金一般较适合退休人士,因为退休人士一般拥有资金,但却没有收入。他们可以考虑以部分储蓄购买即期年金,随即获取长期稳定年金收入,帮补日常生活支出。

延期年金则较适合在职人士,大部分延期年金均以分期供款方式缴付保费,例如5年、10年,甚至更长时间,让投保人在年轻时以定期储蓄方式累积资金,并在退休时把资金转化为稳定年金收入,以供退休生活之用。而政府已推出的「延期年金扣税计划 」,目的就是鼓励市民及早养成储蓄习惯,为退休开支作好准备︒

 

终身 vs. 定期

选择入息期方面 ,消费者首先要明白一个基本概念:以同一笔投保金额计算,理论上入息期愈长,每期派发的金额便愈少;相反,若入息期愈短,每期派发的金额便愈多。

终身年金与定期年金之间的选择应视乎消费者的个人需要。但正如另文是否应该买年金所介绍,年金的最主要作用是应对长寿带来的财务风险,若以此为目的的话,便应选择终身或年期相对较长的年金。当然,消费者亦可按自己的实际需要,选择合适入息年期的年金︒

 

 

2018年12月21日