Investors should make it a point to know how the board of directors and management conduct their businesses and manage all sorts of risks and opportunities. Similarly, it is also important to know what products the fund manager invests in and what factors the fund manager considers when investing in a fund.

Environmental factors, such as climate change in particular, may also impact how the business operates and its profitability. However, investors in general cannot obtain such important information from financial statements. The company has to disclose additional information on ESG (environmental, social and governance) and climate as recommended by the TCFD (Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures) to investors.

Understanding ESG

ESG are considered key factors in the sustainable development of an enterprise and they generally comprise the following items. As each company has different businesses and places of business, their ESG disclosures are inevitably different.

Environmental (E) Social (S) Governance (G)
  • Environmental pollution
  • Biodiversity
  • Climate change
  • Deforestation
  • Ecosystem services
  • Energy efficiency
  • Hazardous materials
  • Land degradation
  • Resources depletion
  • Waste management
  • Water scarcity
  • Customer satisfaction
  • Customer information and privacy protection
  • Diverse society
  • Equal opportunity
  • Employee relationship
  • Government and community relationship
  • Human resources management
  • Human rights and indigenous rights
  • Labor standards
  • Marketing
  • Product safety and liability
  • Mis-selling
  • Supply chain management
  • Accountability standards
  • Anti-competition activities
  • Structure of audit committee
  • Board composition
  • Anti-corruption
  • Commercial ethics
  • Executives remuneration
  • Risk management
  • Independence of board chairman
  • Succession planning
  • Whistleblower scheme

Reference: Principles for Responsible Investment

Companies listed in Hong Kong must provide ESG reports to enable investors to understand how they manage relevant risks. In order to enhance the awareness of listed companies on the importance of ESG disclosure, listed companies are required to disclose environmental and social information in compliance with the “comply or explain” principle since 2016. As investors are increasingly concerned about ESG factors, many asset management companies will disclose their ESG policies and indicate that they will consider ESG factors in the investment process and decisions.

TCFD recommendations

A majority of companies listed in Hong Kong currently prepare their accounts in accordance with universal financial reporting standards, such as Hong Kong Financial Reporting Standards (HKFRS) or International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), to facilitate investors in comparing the financial information of different companies. However, there are currently no universal standards on the preparation of ESG information, including the information on climate change. The ESG information of different companies cannot be easily and directly compared and the quality of the information varies.

The TCFD established by the Financial Stability Board under the G20 made recommendations in 2017 to assist companies in assessing financial risks and opportunities in climate change and disclosing relevant information to investors. The TCFD recommendations mainly focus on four areas, namely governance, strategy, risk management and metrics and targets.

Governance How companies manage risks and opportunities on climate change
Strategy The actual and potential effects of climate change on companies’ business and finance. The TCFD recommends that companies use scenario analysis to understand the resilience of their strategies and financial plans across a range of climate change scenarios
Risk management The process in which companies identify, assess and manage risks on climate change
Metrics and targets Metrics and targets used in assessing and managing climate-related risks and opportunities

 

The TCFD recommendations can be seen as a set of framework or as a set of standards and requirements. Mainland China is putting the TCFD recommendations into trial use and has introduced the policy direction to target mandatory environmental disclosure by 2020. The Securities and Futures Commission in Hong Kong also supports the TCFD recommendations and will require listed companies to strengthen their environmental disclosures, in particular on climate change in the future to make it consistent with the TCFD recommendations.

Investors may consider that the results and dividends of a company are the most important factors when investing in the stock of a company. However, the ESG report can provide indication on the governance and whether the company’s board of directors and management value investor communication in the way they provide disclosure in the ESG report.

 

14 March 2019

绿之披露

绿色金融
资料披露

投资一间公司,我们需要知道公司董事局和管理层怎样打理生意,以及管理不同的风险和机遇。同样,投资一只基金,我们需要知道基金经理投资甚么产品,当中考虑甚么因素。

环境因素特别是气候变化会影响公司的财务和营运,但投资者一般未能从财务报表中得悉这些重要资料。公司有需要额外向投资者披露包括ESG(环境、社会和管治),以及TCFD (气候相关财务披露工作小组)建议的气候相关资料。

认识ESG

ESG被视为企业可持续发展的重要因素,可以包括以下细项。由于每间公司的业务和经营地点不尽相同,它们的ESG披露亦自然有分别。

环境(E) 社会(S) 管治(G)
环境污染
生物多样性
气候变化
砍伐树林
生态系统服务
能源效益
有害物质
土地退化
资源流失
废物管理
水荒
客户满意程度
保护客户资料和私隐
多元化社会
平等机会
雇员关系
政府及社区关系
人力资源管理
人权及原住民权利
劳工标准
市场推广
产品安全及责任
不当销售
供应链管理

问责准则
反竞争行为
审核委员会架构
董事局组成
反贪污
商业道德
行政人员报酬
危机管理
董事局主席的独立性
继任规划
吹哨机制

参考资料:负责任投资原则

本港上市公司须提供ESG报告,让投资者了解它们怎样管理有关风险。为了提升上市公司对ESG披露的重视,自2016年开始,上市公司须依照「不遵守就解释」的原则,披露环境和社会资料。

基于ESG因素愈来愈受到投资者的重视,很多资产管理公司会披露其ESG政策,并表示会在投资过程和决定中考虑ESG因素。

TCFD建议

现时本港上市公司大多数按照国际通用的财务汇报准则,例如香港财务报告准则(HKFRS)或国际财务报告准则(IFRS),编制其账目,方便投资者比较不同公司的财务资料。然而,在撰写ESG,包括气候变化的资料方面,现时却欠缺一套国际通用的准则,在各施各法下,公司之间的ESG资料并不能比较,质素亦参差。

由二十国集团旗下金融稳定委员会成立的TCFD于2017年作出建议,帮助公司评估气候变化带来的财务风险和机遇,以及向投资者披露有关资料。TCFD建议主要围绕管治、策略、风险管理,以及指标和目标四个范畴。

管治 关于公司怎样管理与气候变化有关的风险和机遇
策略 关于气候变化对公司业务和财务带来的实质和潜在影响。TCFD建议公司用情境分析的方法,分析在不同的气候变化环境下,公司策略和财务计划的抗御力
风险管理 关于公司如何识别、评估和管理气候相关风险的过程
指标和目标 关于评估和管理气候相关风险和机遇所用的指标和目标

 

TCFD建议是一套框架,亦可看成是一套标准和要求。中国内地正在试行TCFD建议,并会在2020年或之前推行强制性环境信息披露的政策方向。本港的证监会签署支持TCFD建议,日后在要求上市公司加强披露包括气候变化的环境资料方面,亦希望与TCFD建议一致。

投资者或会认为,投资一家公司的股票,最重要看它的业绩和派息,对于其ESG报告,可能只看成是一篇文章而已。其实,包括ESG报告在内,从上市公司的披露中,我们可以看到公司董事局和管理层的管治水平,与及是否重视与投资者沟通。

 

2019年3月14日