Competency frameworks for financial literacy

Hong Kong Financial Competency Framework

The Hong Kong Financial Competency Framework (FCF) identifies a set of knowledge, skills, attitudes, motivations and behaviour required for financial literacy. It presents the financial competencies that a person at different life stages should ideally possess.


A financial competency framework can be used by different organisations –such as government bodies, policymakers, NGOs, financial institutions and education providers- that are interested in the provision of financial education. However, the framework is not a curriculum and does not prescribe any particular approaches to financial education. It is up to the professional judgement of the various organisations to decide how to address the competencies to design new personal finance units or courses or integrate specific concepts into existing initiatives.


The Hong Kong Financial Competency Framework can be downloaded here.



In 2015, the IFEC appointed a research team from The Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK) to develop the first version of the FCF. In 2019 the FCF was updated, it builds on the original framework and is extended to include the Kindergarten stage.



Traits of a money smart child

As a child grows, he/she develops different financial behaviours. From the FCF, we have identified 20 things that a child should be doing at different ages in order to be financially smart. These should help identify good habits that a child still needs developing. Click here for more details.



Core Competencies Framework on Financial Literacy for Investors

The investing environment as well as investment products are becoming notably more complex. It is crucial for retail investors to be equipped with core competencies that could help them make informed investment decisions.


To support the development and implementation of investor education initiatives across various jurisdictions, in conjunction with the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the International Organization of Securities Commission (IOSCO) has developed a Core Competencies Framework on Financial Literacy for Investors by one of its working groups led by the IFEC. This framework provides guidance on areas to be covered in investor education, with a focus on knowledge, skills and attitudes that retail investors need to make informed investment decisions.


Organisations who are keen to develop and/or measure investor education initiatives are welcome to apply the competencies in the Framework. The English version can be download from here.

理财能力架构

香港理财能力架构

理财能力架构阐述理财能力所涵盖的范围,包括知识、技能、态度、动机及行为多方面。此架构描述一个人在不同的人生阶段中,应该拥有的理财能力。


理财能力架构可供有意提供理财教育或于其服务中加入理财教育元素的各类型机构使用,例如政府单位、政策制定机构、非政府组织、金融机构及教育服务机构。由于此架构并非一个课程,亦不会规限任何理财教育方法,因此各机构可以专业角度判断如何针对有关的能力作出跟进。各机构在阅读理财能力架构后,可根据受众于特定情况下的需要,选择最合适的主题或能力,亦可用以设计新的个人理财单元或课程,或将部份概念融入现有的课程之中。


了解更多有关「香港理财能力架构」详情,请按此





投委会于2015年委托香港教育大学的一支研究团队建立初版的香港理财能力架构。于2019年,投委会更新了原有的理财能力架构,并且将其延伸到幼稚园阶段。



学童理财通识

随着学童成长,他/她会发展不同的理财行为。我们列出了20项学童在不同年龄应有的理财表现,从而协助找出学童需要培养的良好理财习惯。了解更多。



投资者核心理财能力架构

无论投资环境或是投资产品都明显地变得复杂,因此投资者具备能够帮助他们作出有根据投资决定的核心理财能力是至为重要的。


为了支持不同司法管辖区制定及落实投资者教育活动,国际证券事务监察委员会组织与经济合作与发展组织合作,由投委会带领一个工作小组制定《投资者核心理财能力架构》。此架构为投资者教育的范围提供指引,针对散户投资者所需的知识、技巧和态度,以作出明智的投资决定。


有兴趣制定及/或量度投资者教育的机构,欢迎运用本架构内的理财能力。中文版本可按此下载。