Investor Education Centre launched

20 Nov 2012

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) announced today the launch of the Investor Education Centre (IEC) and appointment of the IEC’s Chairman and its Executive Committee members (Note 1).

The establishment of the IEC follows the enactment of the Securities and Futures (Amendment) Ordinance in May 2012 (Note 2).

"The IEC will be dedicated to its investor education mission covering a broad range of financial products and services," the SFC’s Chief Executive Officer, Mr Ashley Alder said.

"The IEC will work to develop a wide range of public investor education programmes and will play a key role in improving financial literacy," he added.

Professor Leonard Cheng Kwok-hon, a non-executive director of the SFC, has been appointed as Chairman of the IEC for a term of three years. Seven Executive Committee members have also been appointed. They represent financial regulators, the financial industry, and the Education Bureau. The General Manager of the IEC also sits on the Executive Committee.

As the governing body of the IEC, the Executive Committee will provide strategic advice and oversight.

The IEC’s website is now in operation. Replacing the SFC’s InvestEd website, the new site already provides the public with a large amount of investor education information.


  • The full member list of the IEC’s Executive Committee is available on the IEC site ( For more details about the IEC, please also refer to the IEC site.
  • Please refer to the press release on 3 May 2012 about the law change.

    Investor Education Centre Executive Committee


    Professor Cheng Kwok-hon, Leonard, JP


    Mr Andrew Wan

    Mr Vincent Lee

    Mr Tony Chan

    Mr Thomas Yiu

    Mr Chan Tze Ching

    Dr Catherine Chan

    Mr Miles Larbey (General Manager of the IEC)