Pick up money management skills during the summer holidays

Tips for parents
Teach your kids
Wants and needs
Pricing

Summer is a time where parents busy themselves by organising various activities for their children to keep them busy during the holidays. . While they are happy to see their children master new knowledge and skills, they can also end up spending a significant amount of money. Therefore striking a balance between practicality and affordability is key.

In fact, a happy and meaningful summer need not cost a lot. Here are some tips for parents and children to enjoy a wonderful summer on a budget, and learn about money concepts through everyday activities.

Fun experiences for free

Incorporate some free and enriching activities such as reading in libraries, visiting parks, picnicking or cycling. Those who prefer indoor activities may start DIY projects using what they can find at home, or prepare a family meal together. These simple activities will show children that they can get happiness for free.

Teach children about money when shopping

Bring children to supermarkets or wet markets and shop with cash. Ask your children to help pick what to buy for dinner within a given budget, and let them learn to compare prices, calculate the correct amounts, and make payments. During the process, they will also learn to distinguish between “needs” and “wants”.

Learn through play with free teaching materials

An effective way for children to learn is through hands-on activities and games that help them develop interest in money matters. For example, parents can make a piggy bank together with their children and encourage them to save regularly. There are also many free materials available online such as the games and activities resources from The Chin Family Parenting and Money Portal for a fun financial management learning experience.

Family time is priceless

Create positive memories with your children when they are growing up, and give them your time and undivided attention. Toys, snacks or expensive treats cannot replace quality family time.

 

More: Games and activity sheets

 

18 Jul 2019

每逢暑假,父母就最忙碌,因为要为子女安排各式各样的活动或兴趣班,令他们过一个「充实」的暑假。见到小朋友透过暑期班或活动学习新的知识或技能,父母当然开心,但荷包难免元气大伤。虽然是开心使费,父母都要量力而为,考虑自己的负担能力,在理想及现实之间取个平衡。

其实,要过一个开心又有学习意义的暑假,未必要大洒金钱。父母不妨参考以下的提议,与孩子一起计划一个不用多花金钱但同样开心的暑假,透过生活的日常学习金钱相关的知识,并建立正确的理财观念。

免费活动同样快乐

可与孩子计划一些有益身心又免费的活动,例如去图书馆看书、去公园跑跑、去郊外野餐或踏单车,也可以在家中发挥创意利用剩余物资做劳作,或做一顿亲子大餐,令孩子明白快乐其实很简单,开心未必需要用钱。

带孩子购物学理财

多带孩子去超级市场或街市用现金购物,例如与他们一起在预算金额内选购晚餐的食材,让孩子从中学习货比三家、计算购物金额及找续,他们也可动脑筋配搭不同的食材。在购物过程中,孩子也可学习分辨「想要」及「需要」。

免费教材边玩边学

寓教育于娱乐的活动及游戏最能提升孩子对理财的学习动机。举个例,父母可与子女一起动手做钱罂,鼓励他们亲手将钱储入钱罂,更深刻感受定期储钱的成果。父母可参考网上的免费教材,例如免费下载「钱家有道」亲子理财频道的活动教材与子女轻松愉快学理财。

父母陪伴就是无价

在子女的成长过程,父母应以爱用心陪伴,制造一家人的甜蜜回忆。玩具、零食或其他礼物都不能代替与父母一起的开心时光。

更多: 活动及游戏纸

 

2019年7月18日