Performance-linked access products

ETF
Synthetic ETF

Key Messages:

  • A synthetic passive ETF may have to invest in performance-linked access products, which are derivatives, to track the performance of an underlying index of a restricted market.

If the passive ETF seeks to track the performance of an underlying index of a restricted market, it may have to invest in performance-linked access products (Access Products), which are derivative instruments, in order to replicate the performance of the underlying index.

For example, a passive ETF adopting a synthetic replication strategy may invest in Access Products linked to securities in substantially the same weightings as those securities in the underlying index. The investment amount will be the net proceeds generated from the issuance of the synthetic passive ETF units, and in return, the Access Products issuer will provide the synthetic passive ETF with an exposure to the economic gain (or loss) in the performance of the underlying index (net of fees, charges and indirect costs, if applicable).

The synthetic passive ETF manager will manage the fund with the objective to reduce to nil its single counterparty net exposure. Where the gross exposure to an Access Product issuer exceeds 0% at the end of each trading day, that Access Product issuer, or its affiliated collateral provider(s) will have to provide collateral to be delivered to/ pledged in favour of the fund to limit net exposure of the fund to the counterparty risk of the relevant Access Product issuer to no more than 0% of its net asset value.

Therefore, if a synthetic passive ETF invests in Access Product when adopting a synthetic replication investment strategy, the fund manager will be required to disclose the components of the collateral and their top 10 holdings in the collateral on their websites. Such information will have to be updated on a weekly basis.

表现挂鈎连接产品

跟踪指数交易所买卖基金
合成ETF

重点讯息:

  • 合成被动型ETF可能需要投资于表现挂鈎连接产品,来模拟设有投资限制的市场的相关指数表现,而表现挂鈎连接产品属于衍生投资工具。

若合成被动型ETF寻求跟踪的相关指数,属一些设有投资限制的市场,就可能要投资于表现挂鈎连接产品(连接产品),以模拟相关指数的表现。表现挂鈎连接产品是衍生投资工具。

举例说,采用合成模拟策略的被动型ETF可能会投资于与相关指数成分股投资比重大致相若的与证券挂鈎的连接产品。合成被动型ETF将会以发行基金单位所得的净收益投资于连接产品,而连接产品的发行商则会在扣除各种收费及间接成本(如适用)后,按相关指数的表现计算给予合成被动型ETF的回报 (或亏损)。

将单一交易对手的风险承担净额降至零,是合成被动型ETF经理管理基金的目标。于每个交易日结束时,如合成被动型ETF就某一连接产品发行商所承担的风险总额超越了0%,一般而言,该连接产品发行商(或其联属抵押品提供者)须提供,并向该基金交付抵押品/向该基金典押抵押品,并以该基金作为受益人,从而确保其就该连接产品提供者所承担的风险净额不会超过其资产净值的 0%。

因此,若合成被动型 ETF的合成模拟投资策略涉及连接产品的投资,有关基金经理须在其网站披露抵押品成分及基金所持有的十大抵押品,有关资料须每周更新。