Financial Literacy Strategy in Hong Kong

Background

Financial education helps personal well-being

Financial education is a process intended to increase the financial literacy level of people. With improved financial literacy, they can manage their money better, and thus financial education helps improve their financial well-being.

Financial education helps personal well-being

Many socio-economic issues, which impact people's overall well-being, can be exacerbated by their poor money management. Through financial education, people can become more capable to manage money and are in a better position to deal with these issues. Hence, the ultimate goal of financial education is to help improve people's overall well-being.


Financial well-being

"Financial well-being can be defined as a state of being wherein a person can fully meet current and ongoing financial obligations, can feel secure in their financial future, and is able to make choices that allow enjoyment of life."

Financial well-being
Financial well-being
Financial well-being
Financial well-being
Financial well-being

Financial literacy as part of socio-economic policies and initiatives

Public policies and initiatives generally aim to help improve people's well-being by addressing specific socio-economic issues. If the financial literacy of the targeted segment is factored in when developing these policies and financial education is integrated into the corresponding initiatives, the effectiveness and sustainability of these policies and initiatives can likely be enhanced.



Financial literacy and socio-economic issues in Hong Kong

The following policy areas that could benefit from an increased financial literacy level of Hong Kong people have been identified.


Low-income families

Hong Kong's wealth gap is at a historic high. In 2017, the poverty rate stood at 20.1%. With government policy interventions to help low-income families, such as recurrent cash interventions, the poverty rate dropped to 14.7%. However, even with these cash interventions, lowincome families still need to be meticulous when managing money in order to make ends meet.


Improving financial literacy can help low-income people become more self-reliant, reducing further burden on public expenditure. For those who are also parents, if they have the proper financial skills and attitudes to manage their limited household income well, they can act as a good role model for their children. This would help encourage asset building by their children, providing them with a roadmap for upward mobility and ultimately help reduce intergenerational poverty.


Youth development

Financial independence, considered as one of the building blocks of the government's youth development strategy, is correlated with home ownership. However, the escalating cost of housing has discouraged many young people from planning for their future. Research indicates that 58% of young adults feel that their social mobility has worsened when compared to their parents. Feeling frustrated over their future, they are disincentivised to plan ahead, with many adopting a "live for today and let tomorrow take care of itself" attitude. In addition, being propelled by easy credit and consumerism, many young people are increasingly turning to the support of parents/grandparents. Looming debt issues may be on the horizon.


Financial education can help instil a more positive mindset among young people. With the appropriate financial attitudes and money management skills, young people can establish and work towards their life goals. Some simple changes in their habits can help them exercise control over unnecessary spending, increase their savings, build assets and achieve financial independence.


Ageing population

A growing elderly population and longer life span of people have led to an increasing demand for public healthcare and social welfare in Hong Kong. The dependency ratio is worsened not only because of an ageing population, but also due to a decline in the youth population segment. Currently, only 34% of the population are confident that they have financially planned sufficient funds for their retirement and 84% of retirees rely on their family members as one of the sources of income during retirement. The resources and support required by the elderly are expected to increase the burden on society, which may be difficult to sustain in the long run.


Financial education can help future generations of retired people to be more self-reliant. With the appropriate financial skills and attitudes, they can better plan for their and their spouses retirement and utilise the different retirement pillars. This could reduce their need to depend on family members and social support.


Scams and fraudulent activities

The rapid development of mobile technology and social media has led to increasing risks of investment scams and other fraudulent activities. In 2017, over 7,000 deception cases occurred, almost doubled the number of cases a decade ago and causing over $200 million (10-fold increase over 2017) in financial losses. As Hong Kong has an active retail investor market, fraudsters can easily lure victims to investments such as Initial Coin Offerings (ICOs), pre-IPOs and loco-London gold, claiming that these investments can generate high returns with low risks. Many financial consumers who want to get quick money are also prone to financial loss caused by loan intermediaries, unscrupulous sales practices or misrepresentations of financial products.


Prevention is better than cure. Financial education can help people, especially the more vulnerable and less literate groups, to be more alert to frauds and safeguard themselves against investment scams and malpractices.


Financial inclusion

Financial technology (Fintech) has brought about many benefits including improving financial inclusion in some areas. It can provide financial consumers easy access to affordable credit, convenient remittance and global shopping. However, this also encourages inadvertent spending and consumerism. The evolution to a cashless society is also changing children's understanding and attitude towards money, leading to loose money management practices among younger generations. Fintech may also cause financial exclusion for others. The emergence of virtual financial services and reduced accessibility of physical outlets may exclude users who rely on branches to carry out their financial transactions, such as people who are less literate or tech-savvy.


Raising financial literacy can help these people embrace the changing landscape and enjoy the benefits that Fintech brings. Financial education can also help people build a healthy money management attitude while riding on the convenience of technological advancement.


Housing

Buying a flat is one of the top financial goals for many Hong Kong people. The surge in property prices has outpaced income growth over the past years. A household, on average, needs to save about 19 years of income to buy an average-priced flat, rendering Hong Kong's housing the least affordable in the world. The desire of owning a home preoccupies many young adults and even their parents. To many, this has an adverse effect on how they view and manage their finances. Irrational financial choices may eventually impact the stability of the economy. Even for those who can afford the down-payment, mortgage expenses take up a sizeable portion of their household income. Interest rate rises and volatile economic environment pose further threats. If property prices fall, the high gearing levels of many mortgage loans will be exacerbated causing negative equity. Rental increases have also outpaced the median income growth of households, impairing those who seek other housing arrangements.


Financial education can help people better evaluate the total costs of housing and assess the impact of external economic factors. With higher financial literacy, they may be able to make more informed and rational decisions before committing to any housing options that require significant and longterm financial obligations.



Hong Kong Financial Competency Framework

Introduction

The Hong Kong Financial Competency Framework (FCF) identifies a comprehensive set of knowledge, skills, attitudes, motivations and behaviour required for financial literacy. It presents the financial competencies that a person at different life stages should ideally possess.


The FCF can be used by different organisations (such as government bodies, policymakers, financial institutions and education providers) that are interested in the provision of financial education. However, the FCF is not a curriculum and does not prescribe any particular approaches to financial education. It is up to the professional judgement of the various organisations to decide how to use the FCF to design new personal finance units or courses or integrate specific concepts into existing initiatives.


The Hong Kong Financial Competency Framework is now available for download here


Development of the Hong Kong Financial Competency Framework

The IFEC appointed a research team from the Hong Kong Institute of Education to develop the FCF. It was developed with the advice and feedback from a working group consisting of financial education providers, academics and school educators.


To ensure the FCF was fit for use and could be widely adopted in Hong Kong, views from the public were also sought in a consultation process. The details of the consultation can be found in the Hong Kong Financial Competency Framework Consultation webpage.


Traits of a money smart child

As a child grows, he/she develops different financial behaviours. We have identified 20 things that a child should be doing at different ages in order to be financially smart. These should help identify good habits that a child still needs developing. For more details

理財能力與香港

背景

金融理財教育有助促進個人福祉

推動理財教育,旨在提高市民理財能力的水平。有更佳的理財能力,他們可更妥善管理金錢,因此,理財教育有助促進個人財務健康。

金融理財教育有助促進個人福祉

許多影響整體民生的社會經濟問題,往往因為市民理財不善而加劇。理財教育可提高市民管理財務的能力,使他們具備較佳條件應對這些問題。因此,理財教育的最終目標是幫助促進市民的整體福祉。


財務健康

「財務健康可定義為一個人能完全應付當前及持續的財務責任,對財務前景感到安穩,並有條件選擇享受生活。」

財務健康
財務健康
財務健康
財務健康
財務健康

理財能力作為社會經濟政策的一環及倡議方案之一

公共政策及倡議方案一般旨在通過解決特定社會經濟問題,以協助改善普羅大眾的福祉。制訂這些政策時,如能顧及目標群組的理財能力,並將理財教育納入相應的倡議方案,則這些政策及倡議方案的成效及可持續性均有望提高。



理財能力與香港社會經濟議題

提高香港市民的金融理財能力,可有助處理以下政策範疇。


低收入家庭

香港目前的貧富懸殊情況為歷來最嚴重。2017年,貧窮率高達20.1%。政府以政策介入幫助低收入家庭,例如恒常現金政策介入,令貧窮率下降至14.7%。然而,即使在這些現金補助支持下,低收入家庭仍需十分精打細算方能維持生計。


提高低收入人士的理財能力,可幫助他們更能自立自主,減輕公共開支負擔。同時,身為家長的低收入人士若能掌握適當的理財技巧及態度,則可更妥善管理有限的家庭收入,成為子女的良好榜樣。此舉有助鼓勵子女積累財產,為他們提供向上流動的方向,最終有利減少跨代貧窮。


青年發展

財務自主是政府青年發展策略的基本理念之一,並與置業息息相關。然而,購買房屋的成本不斷攀升,令許多年輕人不熱衷於規劃未來。研究顯示,58%的青年感到自己的社會流動性比不上父母輩。他們對未來感到沮喪,缺少動力規劃前路,不少更抱有「今朝有酒今朝醉」的態度。此外,寬鬆信貸普及,消費主義盛行,令許多年輕人倚賴父母輩╱祖父母輩的財政支援。越來越多人陷入債務危機是不容忽視的風險。


理財教育可向青年灌輸更積極的思維、適當的理財態度及金錢管理技巧,助他們訂立人生目標並努力向目標邁進。他們只要改變一些習慣,便有助控制無謂的消費、增加儲蓄、建設資產及達致財務自主。


人口老化

長者人口增加及港人壽命延長,導致香港的公共醫療及社會福利需求增加。老年撫養比率惡化不僅是人口老化所致,亦源於年輕人口下降。目前,僅34%的香港市民認為自己已準備充足資金應付退休,而84%的退休人士則倚賴家人作為退休後收入來源之一。預料長者所需的資源及支援將增添社會負擔,且難以長遠維持。


理財教育可幫助未來的退休人士更能自給自足。如果他們擁有適當的理財技巧及態度,運用不同退休保障支柱更妥善規劃自己和配偶的退休生活,便可減輕他們對家人及社會支援的倚賴。


欺詐及詐騙活動

移動通訊技術和社交媒體快速發展,導致投資欺詐及其他詐騙活動的風險上升。2017年共發生超過七千宗欺詐案件,較十年前的案件數目幾乎增加一倍,造成逾二億港元的財務損失(較2017年增加十倍)。由於香港的散戶投資者市場活躍,騙徒容易以聲稱高回報、低風險的投資煽惑受害人參與,例如首次電子貨幣發售、原始股及本地倫敦金等投資。許多投資者希望「搵快錢」,以至容易受放貸中介、無良銷售手法或虛假金融產品欺騙而遭受財務損失。


所謂預防勝於治療,理財教育可提高公眾,尤其是較弱勢及低教育程度的群體,對詐騙活動的警惕,免墜入投資騙局及受失當行為所侵害。


普及金融

金融科技(Fintech)帶來不少好處,包括提高若干金融範疇的普及性,讓金融消費者更容易獲取可負擔的信貸、便捷匯款及於全球購物等。然而,這一切亦鼓勵了胡亂揮霍,助長消費主義。此外,社會邁向無現金化,亦改變了兒童對金錢的理解及態度,令年輕人更易養成不謹慎用錢的陋習。同時,金融科技可能造成另一種金融排拒。虛擬金融服務的冒起及金融服務實體店數量減少,可能使倚賴門店進行金融交易的消費者,例如教育程度較低或不熟悉日常科技應用的群組,被排拒在外。


提高理財能力有助這些人士適應不斷發展的金融環境,令他們可從金融科技中得益。理財教育亦可幫助市民在受惠於科技發展帶來便利的同時,培養更健康的理財態度。


房屋

置業是許多港人的首要財務目標之一。過去數年,樓價急升,速度遠超收入增長。一般家庭平均需要儲起約19年入息,才能購買一個以平均價發售的住宅單位,因此香港房屋成為全球最難以負擔。許多年輕人甚至是他們的父母都視置業為首要願望,亦為不少人的理財觀念及方法帶來負面影響。社會出現不理性的財務決擇最終可能會動搖經濟穩定。即使置業人士能負擔首期,按揭費用亦佔去家庭收入的一大部分。利率上升及經濟環境波動更令風險增加。一旦樓價下跌,許多按揭貸款的負債水平高企情況將會加劇,甚至導致出現負資產。租金升幅亦超過了家庭入息中位數增長,影響尋求其他居住安排的人。


理財教育可讓市民更準確估計住房總成本及評估外來經濟因素的影響,市民提高了理財能力,在選擇需要承擔龐大及長期財務責任的住屋安排前,可作出更有根據及理性的決定。



香港金融理財能力架構

簡介

金融理財能力架構闡述金融理財知識及能力所涵蓋的範圍,包括知識、技能、態度、動機及行為多方面。此架構描述一個人在不同的人生階段中,應該擁有的金融理財能力。


金融理財能力架構可供有意提供金融理財教育的各類型機構使用,例如政府單位、政策制定機構、金融機構及教育服務機構。由於此架構並非一個課程,亦不會規限任何金融理財教育方法,因此各機構可以專業角度判斷如何針對有關的能力作出跟進。各機構在閱讀金融理財能力架構後,可根據受眾於特定情況下的需要,選擇最合適的主題或能力,亦可用以設計新的個人金融理財單元或課程,或將部份概念融入現有的課程之中。


了解更多有關「香港金融理財能力架構」詳情,請按此


「香港金融理財能力架構」的建立

投資者及理財教育委員會委託香港教育學院的一支研究團隊建立「香港金融理財能力架構」。由金融理財教育提供者、學者和教育界人士組成的工作小組,亦有就「香港金融理財能力架構」的建立提供建議和意見。


為確保「香港金融理財能力架構」適合香港和能夠被廣泛採用,投資者教育中心早前已就此舉行諮詢收集公眾的意見,有關諮詢的詳情可瀏覽香港金融理財能力架構 (公眾諮詢)網站。


學童理財通識

隨著學童成長,他/她會發展不同的理財行為。我們列出了20項學童在不同年齡應有的理財表現,從而協助找出學童需要培養的良好理財習慣。了解更多