Are cryptocurrency trading platforms regulated?

Cryptocurrencies
Bitcoin
Blockchain
Fintech
Risks
Regulation and complaints

Are cryptocurrency trading platforms regulated?

Cryptocurrencies are a type of virtual asset, but not fiat currencies nor generally accepted as a means of payment in Hong Kong. With no regulatory backing or support from any central issuers, cryptocurrencies are easily impacted by market rumours, news, or government actions, causing their prices to fluctuate greatly within a short window of time. Cryptocurrencies are regarded as highly speculative and high-risk products. Learn more about cryptocurrency risks.


One can choose to trade cryptocurrencies through local or overseas cryptocurrency trading platforms, which are also known as crypto exchanges or crypto brokers. However, only a few of them are regulated.

Platforms offering securities virtual assets trading

In Hong Kong, securities tokens (such as stock tokens) may be considered as “securities” under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO) and are subject to the regulatory remit of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC). Virtual asset trading platforms which offer trading of at least one security token are required to apply for a licence from the SFC for Type 1 (dealing in securities) and Type 7 (providing automated trading service) regulated activities, and subject to regulatory standards comparable to those applied to licensed securities brokers and automated trading venues. According to the concerned licensing requirements, licensed virtual asset platforms can only provide services to professional investors. Due to the high level of risk, licensed virtual asset platforms cannot offer services to retail investors in accordance with the regulatory requirements.

Platforms offering non-securities virtual assets trading

However, virtual asset trading platforms providing crypto trading in non-securities virtual assets, such as Bitcoins and Ethereum, do not come under the purview of the SFC, since the traded products are not defined as “securities” under the SFO. As such, if investors encounter problems withdrawing cryptocurrencies or fiat currencies from their accounts on these platforms, the SFC may not be able to offer any help. Should more serious events take place, such as winding up or ceasing of operations, or if there are incidences of fraud, breaches or theft, investors may suffer a complete loss in cryptocurrencies deposited in these platforms.

Considerations for overseas cryptocurrency trading platforms

It is worth noting that some overseas cryptocurrency trading platforms may be regulated by their local regulators. Should transaction disputes arise, investors may need to seek help from and lodge a complaint with the relevant overseas regulators. However, as investors are physically in Hong Kong, seeking assistance overseas may be extremely difficult and inconvenient. Similarly, if the platform closes or ceases operations, investors may be fighting an uphill battle in submitting claims and seeking legal remedies.

Cryptocurrencies are high-risk products and thus not suitable for everyone. Without fully understanding their features and risks, do not jump on the speculative investment bandwagon. If you intend to use trading platforms for cryptocurrency trading or other related services (such as cryptocurrency debit cards), you should first do your research, make considered choices and understand the relevant risks.

To ensure orderly developments in the market and enhance investor protection, the HKSAR government proposes to establish a licensing system that covers dealing in both securities and non-securities virtual assets to fully regulate virtual asset exchanges. The public consultation exercise was completed in May 2021. Preparation for introducing the relevant bill to the Legislative Council is currently under way.

Learn more:

5 August 2021

加密貨幣交易平台是否受監管?

加密貨幣
比特幣
區塊鏈
金融科技
風險
規管及投訴

加密貨幣交易平台是否受監管

加密貨幣是一種虛擬資產,並非法定貨幣,在香港一般不獲接納為付款方式。加密貨幣背後沒有中央發行機構監管及支持,容易受市場傳言、消息或政府行動影響,令其價格在短期內大幅波動,甚具投機意味,屬高風險產品。了解加密貨幣的風險

 

要買賣加密貨幣,其中一個方法是透過本地或海外的加密貨幣交易平台進行交易。這些交易平台又稱為加密貨幣交易所或找換店,當中只有少數加密貨幣交易平台受監管。

提供證券性質虛擬資產交易的平台

在香港,證券性質的虛擬資產 (例如股票代幣) 可能構成《證券及期貨條例》所指的「證券」,屬證監會的監管職權範圍。虛擬資產平台營運者如就至少一隻證券型代幣提供交易服務 (無論是在香港進行或以香港投資者作為目標),便須向證監會就第1類(證券交易)及第7類(提供自動化交易服務)受規管活動領取牌照,並受與適用於證券經紀商及自動化交易場所的標準相若的特設規定所約束。根據有關發牌條件規定,取得牌照的虛擬資產交易商只能為專業投資者提供服務。由於加密貨幣涉及很高的風險,獲發牌的虛擬資產平台按規定不能向散戶投資者提供服務。

只提供非證券性質虛擬資產交易的平台

但是,若虛擬資產交易平台只提供比特幣、以太幣等非證券性質的加密貨幣交易,由於交易產品不屬於《證券及期貨條例》所界定的「證券」,有關交易平台不屬證監會監管範圍。若出現問題,例如投資者在有關交易平台的帳戶提取加密貨幣或法定貨幣時遇到困難,證監會可能無法提供協助。若有更嚴重的情況,如平台倒閉、停止運作、欺詐、違約或失竊等,投資者可能會全數損失存放在這些平台上的加密貨幣。

海外交易平台「隔山追討」的考慮

另外,部分海外交易平台可能受當地監管機構監管。若發生交易爭議,投資者可嘗試向相關海外監管機構尋求協助或作出投訴。但由於投資者身處香港,「隔山追討」可能會相當困難及不便。基於其跨境性質,若平台出現倒閉、停止運作等情況,投資者可能難以提出申索,亦可能無法循法律途徑獲取賠償。

加密貨幣屬高風險產品,不是每個人都適合參與,未有全面了解其特性及風險之前,切勿跟風投機。若有意使用交易平台買賣加密貨幣或使用相關服務(例如加密貨幣扣賬卡),應做足資料搜集,小心選擇及了解相關風險。

為確保市場有序發展及加強對投資者的保障,香港特區政府建議設立發牌制度,涵蓋證券性質及非證券性質的虛擬資產交易,全面規管虛擬資產交易所。有關咨詢工作已於2021年5月完成,現正就相關條例草案提交立法會進行準備工作。

了解更多:


2021年8月5日